Rappler's coverage of campaigns and elections in the Philippines.

Know the candidates, political parties, power brokers, watchdogs & the voters. This is your site for timely reports, comprehensive data, expert analyses, online conversations, and citizens' collaboration.

Enrile, Zubiri win in precincts with 100% turnout

Aries Rufo and Kim Luces
Posted on 05/20/2013 3:15 PM  | Updated 05/20/2013 4:49 PM

MANILA, Philippines — In an alternate universe where voters all troop to the precincts on election day, the administration’s Team Pnoy would still trump the opposition United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) in the senatorial race.

But there's a catch. Two of those who lost in the official canvass would have won in this parallel world.

Based on elections results in the 70 clustered precincts that registered a 100-percent turnout on May 13, it's still 9-3 in favor of the administration coalition’s slate.

READ: 70 precincts post 100% turnout, mostly in ARMM

However, except for former censors chief Grace Poe-Llamanzares, who was No. 1 in these areas, the ranking from 2nd to the 12th place gets a bit complicated.

Two losing senatorial aspirants from UNA - Juan “Jack” Ponce Enrile Jr. and Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri - would have won in this parallel world of clustered precincts that had a perfect attendance on May 13.

Displaced in these precincts were their UNA party mates, newly-proclaimed senators JV Ejercito and Gregorio “Gringo” Honasan, who are in the 11th and 12th places, respectively, in the official canvass of the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Poe topped the overall race in the 70 clustered precincts with a hundred-percent turnout, garnering 17, 381 votes. But in at least 3 established precincts in Maguindanao, Tawi-Tawi and Sulu, she only got one or two votes.

Most of these clustered precincts are in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), which has earned a reputation for being the poll cheating capital in the country. Prior to the May 13 polls, the Comelec purged 280,000 names from the voters’ list – bloated with multiple registrants and ghost voters. ARMM consists of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi. (Check where the clustered precincts are)

Behind Poe in these clustered precincts is President Aquino’s cousin, Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino (16,716 votes), followed by Vice President Jejomar Binay’s daughter Nancy (14,748). Juan Edgardo Angara (13,663) and Loren Legarda (13,327) were the 4th and 5th highest vote-getters in these clustered precincts.

In the official canvass, Legarda is 2nd place, Binay is in 5th place and Angara is in 6th.

In the clustered precincts with a hundred-percent turnout, Enrile (12,774) and Zubiri (12,676) secured the 6th and 7th places, respectively, followed by Francis “Chiz” Escudero (11,362), Cynthia Villar (10,390) and Antonio Trillanes IV (10,345) for 8th, 9th and 10th places.

The 11th and 12th places went to re-electionist Senators Alan Peter Cayetano (10,052) and Aquilino Pimentel III (9,597).

Ejercito (9,539) was a close 13th placer.

Below is the comparison of ranking in the official canvass vis-a-vis the results in the clustered precincts with a perfect voter turnout:

Official Canvass 70 clustered precincts with 100% voter turnout
1. Poe 1. Poe
2. Legarda 2. Aquino
3. Cayetano 3. Binay
4. Escudero 4. Angara
5. Binay 5. Legarda
6. Angara 6. Enrile
7. Aquino 7. Zubiri
8. Pimentel 8. Escudero
9. Trillanes 9. Villar
10. Villar 10. Trillanes
11. Ejercito 11. Cayetano
12. Honasan 12. Pimentel

Honasan only garnered 6,910 votes in these clustered precincts. The Senate bets who got higher votes than Honasan were Team PNoy's Risa Hontiveros (8,278) and UNA's Margarita “Tingting” Cojuangco (8,153).

The 3 Kapatiran Party bets were the lowest vote-getters in those areas.

Beating Poe

While Poe topped the overall vote in these areas, she was not No. 1 in some of the clustered precincts that had a perfect turnout on May 13.

In some of clustered precincts in Sulu, Maguindano and Apayao provinces, for instance, Enrile was the highest vote-getter.

In fact, Poe only got a single vote in one established precinct in Maguindanao and in Tawi-Tawi. In one established precinct in Sulu, she got only two votes. Enrile topped the race in that Sulu precinct.

In Maguindanao, Enrile got the 7th highest votes, following Zubiri at 6th, based on the official tally. The official count also showed Enrile and Zubiri breaking into the top 12 in Sulu and Tawi-Tawi. On the other hand, the eventual winners -- Ejercito and Honasan -- failed to land in the top 12 in these two provinces, according to the official count.

Zubiri was the first senatorial bet to concede before the Comelec proclaimed the last 3 winning senatorial bets: Villar, Trillanes and Honasan on May 18. -

This story makes people happy
How did this story make you feel?

More Stories