opinion - updates

Rappler's latest stories on opinion

ARTICLE FINDER

[OPINION] Honoring the predecessors of the #HijaAko movement

Jul 13, 2020 - 3:29 PM

'We should recognize that the #HijaAko Movement is not merely a Filipinized incarnation of the #MeToo Movement, because it is organically built upon the pioneering initiatives of early activists...the comfort women'

[OPINION | Just Saying] Constitutional prerogative gone wrong

Jul 13, 2020 - 2:54 PM

'The denial of ABS-CBN’s franchise application resonates with all of us: our job security, our freedom of information, expression, and the press and, our fundamental right to know and be happy'

[OPINION] Shutting the revolving door: Let the chiefs serve their tenure

Jul 12, 2020 - 1:00 PM

'Appointing the service chiefs with a fixed three-year term is direly needed to ensure that their programs and policies could be implemented, as well as recalibrated should the need arise...'

Hong Kong police raid opinion pollster ahead of opposition vote

Jul 11, 2020 - 2:36 PM

The overnight move comes days after China imposed a sweeping new national security law on the financial hub after months of civil unrest last year

HONG KONG POLICE. Police charge towards protesters during a rally against a new national security law in Hong Kong on July 1, 2020, on the 23rd anniversary of the city's handover from Britain to China. File photo by Anthony Wallace/AFP

[OPINION | Dash of SAS] If you want to empower women, pay them for their work

Jul 11, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'When brands use feminism and its ideals of equality, it needs to go beyond cherry picking the easy and trendy aspects of it like empowerment'

[OPINION | Artwork] Bangungot sa mga mulat

Jul 10, 2020 - 1:18 PM

How do visual artists feel about a law that could possibly stifle them from free expression?

[OPINION] In the service of the Filipino

Jul 09, 2020 - 6:52 PM

'What has ABS-CBN done in the service of the Filipino? This is the accusing, if not sarcastic, question many administration allies ask...'

[OPINION] The Ifugao, cowboys, and assimilation through education

Jul 09, 2020 - 4:01 PM

'[T]here are no initiatives yet to properly train teachers in indigenous history and heritage'

[OPINION] Being gay in an all-girl Catholic school

Jul 08, 2020 - 2:41 PM

'Having a support system is not as powerful as it sounds if the structure it resides in is hesitant to change'

[OPINION] The myth of the 'pa-seminar' in the Philippines

Jul 07, 2020 - 4:15 PM

'Seminars are great morale boosters but fail to create lasting change. Participants are likely to remember how lackluster the speaker was, how many punchlines he delivered, or how picturesque the venue was, but not the goals of the program.'

[OPINION] The Air Defense Identification Zone – China’s next South China Sea aggression?

Jul 07, 2020 - 2:18 PM

'[China's] seizing control of the South China Sea is but the maritime step in a much larger strategic goal: dominating Asia by 2050'

[OPINION] Defiance as a moral obligation

Jul 06, 2020 - 2:20 PM

'Jesus, in the Gospel, said that if a hand causes you to sin, it has to be cut off. This means that things that enable immorality have to be fought and abolished.'

[OPINION] Is Duterte now a dictator?

Jul 06, 2020 - 11:33 AM

'Duterte is now encountering hurdles in his authoritarian drive as perhaps never before'

[OPINION] The pandemic and the search for home

Jul 05, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'Home is a state where the heart finds rest'

[OPINION] Stranded scholars: An inconvenient truth

Jul 04, 2020 - 4:00 PM

'As I wait for our repatriation flight to the Philippines (after 7 ticket cancellations), I remain hopeful and try to remember that day I arrived as a scholar'

[OPINION] The coronavirus and the countryside

Jul 04, 2020 - 3:00 PM

'The tragedy of those who fled is only part of a bigger story that COVID-19 is unraveling about the countryside'

[OPINION] The ABS-CBN hearings: A theater of the absurd

Jul 03, 2020 - 3:18 PM

'There’s something rather aberrant about Marcoleta: he just won’t stop flogging a dead horse, whether it be the Lopez citizenship or any other carcass, which is the precise lifeless state common to all the issues raised against ABS-CBN'

[OPINION | Artwork] Mga Salita

Jul 03, 2020 - 2:00 PM

According to artist Neal Andrew Lim, 'The piece shows how the orders of the current admin kill; how everyday people are all linked with the killings and the ineptitude of the current admin'

[OPINION] Why did priests and religious vote for Duterte?

Jul 03, 2020 - 12:00 PM

'My classmate who told me that he voted for Duterte after a process of discernment was most likely influenced by regionalism rather than the Holy Spirit'

[OPINION | Just Saying] Judges should not take offense

Jul 03, 2020 - 10:00 AM

'[Judges] cannot just blame people for making negative outbursts regarding their decisions'

[OPINION] Harry’s rapture and the pandemic in our political leadership

Jul 02, 2020 - 12:23 PM

'Here, dear Brutus, is where the fault lies – the quality of politicians we elect to office'

[OPINION] Biting the hand that feeds you: Thoughts of a gov't worker under Duterte

Jul 02, 2020 - 10:28 AM

'Duterte is the Lord Voldemort (he-who-must-not-be-named) of our institution. Nobody dares to discuss him, unless it is about something positive.'

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: PWDs deserve respect – even if they don't look disabled

Jul 01, 2020 - 8:00 PM

Many persons with disabilities don’t physically look disabled. Sometimes, that makes it even harder for them to get the help they need.

[OPINION] It’s okay – take that online course

Jul 01, 2020 - 3:48 PM

'I dare do not discredit the happiness and pride people gain in finishing courses'

[OPINION] We need to treat informal workers better from now on

Jul 01, 2020 - 2:37 PM

'Let’s include the Nanay Celias, Kuya Bons, and Manang Sols in our discussions. Let’s talk about a new reality where they are afforded the same benefits their counterparts in the formal economy enjoy.'

[OPINION] Bakit walang forever? The impermanence of scientific knowledge

Jul 01, 2020 - 2:10 PM

'For COVID-19, there is still a lot that we don’t know about the disease, but that doesn’t mean that our scientists are wrong'

[OPINION] I can’t breathe: How racial justice is connected to climate justice

Jun 30, 2020 - 3:50 PM

'In the picture of how racial supremacy and environmental decay are put together, violence is front and center'

[OPINION] Ang pagbaba mula sa tore ng akademya

Jun 30, 2020 - 1:03 PM

'Hindi tuluyang lalaya ang kaisipan ng taumbayan kung nakakubli ang agham sa wikang ginagamit lamang ng iilan'

[OPINION] Beyond legalities and technicalities: How the court decision challenges us to keep press freedom alive

Jun 30, 2020 - 8:22 AM

'Fear is not what we need at this time, of all times. Especially if fear tricks us into seeing enemies where there are only fellow Filipinos and fellow human beings...'

[OPINION] On hoarding certificates from online courses and webinars

Jun 29, 2020 - 2:08 PM

'The webinar is eroticized by so-called experts as a necessary and legitimate qualification. The certificate becomes the cult-favorite signal of self-improvement.'

Rx: Determined thoughts, good feelings

Jun 28, 2020 - 4:28 PM

2 plucky seniors beat the virus on their own unusual terms

SURVIVING CORONAVIRUS The Delta Force Girls in Room D, their sorority room/ war room. Photo courtesy of Velarde

[OPINION] Drawing the line on sexual harassment in all-girls schools

Jun 28, 2020 - 2:39 PM

'Just because a space is supposed to be safe, it doesn't mean it is'

[OPINION | Dash of SAS] A love letter to our jeepney drivers

Jun 27, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'Our tatay jeepney drivers have not only been stripped of their livelihood, they have also been stripped of their dignity. For the first time, we are seeing our jeepney drivers begging on the street.'

[OPINION] The Bahay Kubo and the making of the Filipino

Jun 26, 2020 - 4:25 PM

'The quintessential Philippine garden is a product of global connections that started more than a thousand years ago'

[OPINION | Artwork] Mass Grave

Jun 26, 2020 - 12:50 PM

The artwork is part of Tai's illustration series 'Pandemic Patterns'

[OPINION] Why you can't support both #BlackLivesMatter and Duterte’s drug war

Jun 24, 2020 - 2:59 PM

'If you are performatively hashtagging about the murders of Michael, Breonna, and Trayvon, you cannot congratulate the murders of Kian, Jefferson, Carl, and over 20,000 other Filipinos'

[OPINION] Anti-Black attitudes among Filipinos, in the context of the U.S. Empire

Jun 23, 2020 - 5:57 PM

'How come Filipino postcolonial sensitivities side with the white colonizers rather than with the formerly colonized (such as ourselves) and enslaved peoples?'

[OPINION] When religion blames the victim

Jun 23, 2020 - 12:57 PM

'In congregations around the Philippines, women are enjoined to be submissive to their husbands. The Filipino translation is more forceful: magpasakop sa asawa.'

[OPINION] An anthropologist on rethinking history to inspire the future

Jun 22, 2020 - 3:48 PM

'There are no human races, there is only one human race. The concept of race reinforces the colonial structures that favors Eurocentric views.'

[OPINION] Little brown Americans

Jun 21, 2020 - 1:00 PM

'We tend to think we are the crème de la crème of Southeast Asia mainly because of our high proficiency in [English]'

[OPINION] Activism as a call from Christianity

Jun 21, 2020 - 10:00 AM

'Calling our aid charity posits a hierarchy between you and the ones you choose to help'

[OPINION] Lessons on Philippine history, as inspired by Danding Cojuangco

Jun 20, 2020 - 6:00 PM

'Danding Cojuangco, together with the other architects, henchmen, and butchers of Martial Law, was politically accommodated, reintegrated, and allowed to partake in one way or another, in the restored democracy of the Philippines'

[OPINION | Newspoint] A strategy of crackdown and cover-up

Jun 20, 2020 - 12:00 PM

'The pandemic lays itself open to official exploitation for the fear and the hunger and joblessness and the other distractions it has brought; the government could also use some covering up for its shortcomings in dealing with the emergency'

[OPINION | Artwork] No age limit for acceptance

Jun 19, 2020 - 2:38 PM

'I did this piece because a lot of my fellow LGBTQ+ have been struggling to come out,' says the artist

[OPINION] #ABiasCBN, #RapplerFakeNews: A case of pro-admin 'media literacy?'

Jun 19, 2020 - 12:50 PM

'A democracy needs media-literate citizens who can hold their media institutions accountable, as much as we need these media institutions to do their jobs of holding the government accountable'

[OPINION] When we're scared to share: Thoughts from an environmental advocate

Jun 18, 2020 - 4:00 PM

'They were already able to red-tag us without the bill, how much more so if it's passed?'

[OPINION] Clinical clerkship: Being next in line in the pandemic

Jun 18, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'Had I known this pandemic would occur, would I still have pursued the 4 grueling years of medical school, only to be put on the front lines?'

[OPINION] The perils of government procurement in the pandemic

Jun 18, 2020 - 12:59 PM

'Without having to go through the process of competitive public bidding, the dangers of corruption, overpricing, and counterfeit goods will just be a door knock away'

[OPINION] Understanding the power of privilege

Jun 18, 2020 - 9:00 AM

'Come July 1, 2020, voter registration will finally resume. That opens up another avenue where we could put our privilege to good use.'

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: BDSM is not just about sex

Jun 17, 2020 - 8:00 PM

What's the real deal behind BDSM? How does it go beyond chains and whips and leather?